Post Thanks / Like

Default Getting a bloke in my class

I think a guy is joining one of my classes.

Any hints/tips/dos and don'ts that you think I should know about?

Thanks in advance!
    x

Post Thanks / Like

I am going to get it in before he does ;

Zorba, "The Veiled Male"

Check out the '' Articles for Dancers'', there is much in there about males in BD classes and how to treat them, but as a student, I am sure you will agree, teach males just like you teach females, aside from physiology, there is no difference, we are all just people wishing to learn.

Also check here;

Male Dancers

Wise words by all on the reality of the situation.

Post Thanks / Like

Excellent - thanks for the info!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Khanjar did indeed beat me to it - but yes, teach him just like any other student.

And, after all the negative publicity the UK has had over the lack of willing Belly Dance teachers for males - THANK YOU for being willing to take him on!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Zorba View Post
    Khanjar did indeed beat me to it - but yes, teach him just like any other student.

And, after all the negative publicity the UK has had over the lack of willing Belly Dance teachers for males - THANK YOU for being willing to take him on!
    I've always been willing to allow males into the class but so far have only ever had a couple of enquiries. Fingers crossed this one turns out OK and he encourages others!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Bringing up the rear

And here's my list of video role models. I think its very important that guys realize that this is primarily a social dance that guys do participate in as well, even though people aren't use to seeing them perform it on a stage... Well.. with Tito and some others that's changing.

YouTube - Dance and the Egyptian people Dance and the Egyptian people.

YouTube - Dina : Dina and Sa’ad il Sughir

YouTube - el3nab : Sa’ad Sughayar’s and guys dancing in video Il Aynab