the image of a belly dancer

alosha

given a recent event here in my town, i'm curious about something.

I am a student dancer, and i have always thought that the image of a belly dancer should be the same as that of a ballet dancer or a jazz dancer, etc. Respectable, pretty costume, nice movements, engaging to the public, etc. Respectable being the key. I HATE HATE HATE when belly dancers are portrayed as 'harem dancers' and anything that relates the dance to being done for the benefit of a man (or men). Yes, it's sexy, we've had that thread already. What i'm talking about is perpetuating the image of belly dance being a dance done by women to seduce or entice men.

Isn't this something that all belly dancers SHOULD know? Could someone who's been a belly dancer for 4-5-6 years NOT know that belly dance is not a 'harem dance'?

Kashmir

Playing devil's advocate ('cos I really dislike those harem fantasies too), an experienced dancer may use those myths at times as theatre - not as the whole shebang. For instance a tableau within a large show.

Also sometimes you are hired for exactly that - my gig last night was a fantasy harem party - women in yashmaks and sheer harem pants, men with drawn on beards and big swords. They didn't hire me to lecture them on the perils of orientalism or give them art dance. They wanted a scandalous "belly dancer" - and that is what they got.

That said any one with more than 12 months experience should be able to distinguish myth from reality - and certainly anyone who teaches. Yet many use it as a hook for attracting students - I would hope eventually they'd come clean though.

lizaj

Playing devil's advocate ('cos I really dislike those harem fantasies too), an experienced dancer may use those myths at times as theatre - not as the whole shebang. For instance a tableau within a large show.