Discomfort doing new drills from video.

billie

I am very new to this and do not know if this will eventually stop as I tone up or if I'm doing something wrong.
When doing certain chest movements, air is pushed in or out of my lungs. At a faster tempo it's harder to control and I have to slow down. I don't want to keep practicing if it's wrong, but on the other hand I'm pretty out of shape. None of those little muscles have done this before. :x

Kashmir

Which chest movements? Generally speaking chest movements should be independent of breath. However, if you are new to belly dancing, I would not start with chest movements. It is control of the hips that define the dance.

Dunyah

I would strongly recommend finding a real live teacher. Working with DVDs has its place, but there is no substitute for a real teacher who can give you feedback, especially if you are new to the dance.

billie

I've been drilling hips a few hrs a week for a couple of months, if I don't add something to my routine I'll be too bored with it to practice ;) The lifts is where I feel lung movement. Slides give me no trouble so far. If I go slow I can keep my breath slow and even. Up tempo though & the movement gets my breathing kind of jerky. I don't want to drill a bad habit if I'm doing it wrong but I'd like to get my upper body toned more for when my choreography-based class eventually requires it.

Darshiva

Then keep it slow. There's no reason why you need to race ahead with moves. Make the moves smaller, make them slower. When I'm teaching I always tell my students to slow it down or make it smaller if they're having difficulty with a move. And sometimes a move just isn't right for your body. If it causes you pain, DO NOT DO THIS AT HOME. Book a private lesson with your teacher and get them to take you through the move SAFELY. If the move still causes you pain, DO NOT DO THAT MOVE.