Performing at a western wedding

YasminAstera

Hi everyone!

I've been performing for a good seven years now but never been asked to perform at a wedding before. I've recently been asked to perform at one and it's in just two weeks!! :dance: The couple are from the UK and are musicians, without much knowledge of belly dance as far as I know and they haven't given me any guidance. They've simply said "you're the professional, we'll leave it up to you", which is both lovely to have freedom to be creative, but rather scary as it's their special day and I want to make sure they love it... :pray:

I wondered if anyone has any tips on belly dancing at a wedding?

My best costume is white... would that be a lovely compliment to a wedding or a terrible 'up-staging' of the bride? :confused: And any opinions as to whether including a western track in my set would be tacky or fun/welcoming to an audience who are unfamiliar with belly dance music?

Thanks!!

Yasmin x

Amulya

I have done western weddings and I do what I usually do for other events. Ask them how long they want the performance to be for, do they want one set or two with costume change. You can ask if they have colour preferences for costumes.

The white costume, I don't know, since I never owned a white one I never had that issue. Maybe other members here have a good insight :)

Daimona

If the ceiling of the event is high enough and you are familiar with raqs shemadan, perhaps that could be an idea?

YasminAstera

Hi ladies!

Amulya, they've asked for half an hour of dancing, and I'm still trying to get the details but I expect it'll be in two sets- really don't have much guidance! I've asked about the colour scheme and what colour the bride will be wearing, but not heard back yet... And thankyou for the welcome! I was on here a year or so ago but can't for the life of me remember my old username or log in!!