The role of performing

DancingArabian

Just a thought as I was browsing on the internet for belly dancing and horse related items to spend my gift cards on.

What role, if any, do you think performing (the desire to perform, the goal of performing and actually doing it) has affected your dancing? Do you feel you strive harder to be a better dancer because of the desire to perform? Do you think performing pushes your students to work harder at learning/practicing?

Do you think you would be at the level you are now if performing was out of the equation? Do you think that by choosing not to perform, or that in not having a desire to perform, that students are passively....perhaps not discouraged, but passively not encouraged to put in more effort into learning because 'what's the point'?

Aniseteph

That's an interesting question.

As a student, I'd have got bored a long time ago without some kind of performance opportunities - very much "what's the point?". Like learning to sew and never actually making anything.

Performing makes me work harder than I might otherwise because I don't want to mess up and let the side down. Performing solos also focuses the mind :shok:, and gives me the chance to work on all sorts of things that to me are really what belly dance is all about - choosing music, doing my own choreography (or improv), exploring my own style and interpretation and expression, choosing a suitable costume, and the whole performance experience.

I find that any sort of performance experience, solos or as a group, can be very bonding for the group. I guess it's the shared nerves and the energy that comes from that. If you all go through it together it can make for a more supportive, relaxed and and positive attitude in class.

Kashmir

I don't think you need to perform in a show etc - but you do need to dance (as opposed to doing drills). This can be casual or even for yourself.

AspiringDancer