Zills

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachy

Anyone use them? How do you know if they are "good" ones or not. I saw a TON on ebay, and wanted a pair, and then kept seeing many different kinds. Will different ones sound different? What about if they are made for children to play with?

TIA!

Kiadorin

Yes, different ones do have very different sounds. Some zill-makers have audio clips on their websites so you get an idea of what suits you. Some examples: http://www.saroyanzils.com/ and http://www.fingercymbals.com/

I'm no expert on the subject, but I do think you'll be better off in the long run if you buy from a reputable zill-maker right from the beginning instead of going for something of unknown quality on ebay. May cost a few dollars more, but at least you'll know what you're getting. Plus, if you end up with the kind that have little weight and resonance (like my first set), it may be a bit more difficult to readjust to the real thing.

Last edited:

Inanna

From my own personal experience I would recommend getting a student pair of zills to start with, as they are a little cheaper and a bit smaller in size. I first started with a professional pair and they were really big and akward and heavy for me, and I had a hard time learning on them. My teacher then loaned me a student pair and I had an easier time mastering the technique since I wasnt fumbling with the larger pair. Now I am much more skilled at using my professional pair, so the smaller zills were kind of like training wheels for me..lol. But some of the other girls in my class didnt have as hard of time with the larger pair, but thats just my two cents. :)

Kiadorin

Oh, I agree with you, Inanna. I wouldn't recommend starting with the biggest things on the market. I just meant to avoid those really bad cheap sets that aren't even actual brass.

slinks