Belly Dancing Mentor and/or Tips

LeAnna88

I live in Gillette, WY and have been looking for a Belly Dancing group for sometime now but have had no luck... I took a few classes when I was in College and know there's a lot of interest for a class in Gillette so I'm toying with the idea of starting my own. I'm not very experienced though and only know what I could learn a casual class once a week for two years... I'm looking for someone to help me get started in my Quest, looking for book tips, DVD tips, advice on how to run the class... Basically anything would help!

mahsati_janan

I live in Gillette, WY and have been looking for a Belly Dancing group for sometime now but have had no luck... I took a few classes when I was in College and know there's a lot of interest for a class in Gillette so I'm toying with the idea of starting my own. I'm not very experienced though and only know what I could learn a casual class once a week for two years... I'm looking for someone to help me get started in my Quest, looking for book tips, DVD tips, advice on how to run the class... Basically anything would help!

Please do not start a class as a teacher if you do not yet have enough training and experience to make it a safe and informative learning experience. A belly dance club or study group may be a better option if there are no teachers available in your area. By teaching, you would be taking responsibility for your students' learning progression and their safety.

This is something I wrote up a while back that I share with dancers who are considering becoming teachers:

So you want to teach belly dance? Where to start?
I developed these guidelines by talking to other belly dance teachers, instructors in other dance and art styles, and different dance studios. This is not to discourage prospective teachers, but to give an idea of what you might need to help you be a successful instructor.