How do you bead on stretch velvet?

Rassi

I have his stetch velvet costume that had cheap gold sequins in the shapes of ears of corn :rolleyes: I removed the sequins but they flattened the pattern so the ears are still visible. I want to bead it in some way but the velvet is stretchy. Should I use an embroidery hoop to hold the fabric while trying to bead?

I confess I really have no idea what I;m doing here. HELP PLEASE!!!

Last edited:

Greek Bonfire

I am not an expert, but I would think you would stretch it somewhat, but not all the way, so that when you are moving and the fabric stretches, that you do not have all these gaps showing on the costumes. I think a moderate to severe stetch would be good too so that you could insert more beading. Good luck - I've yet to do my own beading from scratch.

Daimona

I have his stetch velvet costume that had cheap gold sequins in the shapes of ears of corn :rolleyes: I removed the sequins but they flattened the pattern so the ears are still visible. I want to bead it in some way but the velvet is stretchy. Should I use an embroidery hoop to hold the fabric while trying to bead?

It has been a while since I worked with stretch velvet, but from what I remember, I wouldn't use an embroidery hoop in case the fabric got permanent marks from it. Although I'm not an expert (and if someone have more experience please correct me if I'm wrong). If you want to keep the beaded areas stretchy as possible and as the thread you'll be using and will be limiting factors of how stretchy it will be, you either have to bead very loosely (not recommended) or secure and cut the thread for nearly every bead (it will take a while, but you want regret it).

Still can't figure out how to insert an image.
Your almost doing it right, you just pasted a link to flickr instead of the image itself. :)

Crystalllized