Making it a bit darker

Elfie

Okay. So, we know that I dance only for fitness. My husband, however, loves to watch me dance (and I must say that I love the benefits hehe). He's mentioned that my expression is a bit darker compared to most dancers. I've little to no interest in Gothic style dancing. According to my husband, I "smolder" in a non-sexual way and I look "dangerous. Pleasing, but dangerous" (my husband's words). I took it as a compliment at first, but now I'm beginning to wonder exactly where this fits in BD and if I should work to change it.

Now, as I've mentioned in another thread or three, I am a writer and I write horror. I am not a smiling bouncy person, not usually perky or cheerful. I have a darker personality; not goth or scary, but indeed a bit dark. And an eerie fascination with the macabre. I figure this is translating into my dance and manifesting itself as dangerous and that smoldering thing my husband mentioned.

Is there a place in BD for a bit of darkness? Does that defeat the purpose at all (this was suggested to me by a non-dancer. "Doesn't that evilness [her pet-name for my attitude LOL] come across as cheese, or just completely make a mockery of what you're doing? I thought belly dancers were supposed to be beautiful and graceful and make people smile.")?

I apologize for my rather long winded posts. I tend to over explain things - I almost always end up typing loads more than I intend to. Eventually, my plethora of questions will run out, I promise they will. Thank you in advance for answering.

Shanazel

I thought belly dancers were supposed to be beautiful and graceful and make people smile.

Belly dancers are supposed to interpret the music and not all music is about smiling.