mix 'n' match

Samantha

Hi, Im really new to belly dancing and Im trying to learn about it. Ive been looking at different countries styles of costumes and was wondering if you should wear a costume all from one country or is it ok to mix and match like a Turkish style skirt and an Egyptian top?

Amanda (was Aziyade)

I'm of the opposite opinion, where I would say be consistent in your costuming and music match, but these days it's REALLY hard to say what's Turkish or Egyptian in STYLE, since they're both wearing the same things.

Turkish-made costuming usually relies more on sequins for the flash. Egyptian-made costumes rely more on glass beads. The difference is reflected in the difference in the price. Turkish goods are USUALLY a little cheaper in price, but are just as nicely made as Egyptian ones.

If you follow fashion, you'll notice Egyptian costumers following their own fashion trends as well. It's really just like ready-to-wear in the US.

Costume dealers can call their costumes whatever they want. A Turkish skirt may not mean it's actually Turkish in any way. Sometimes split skirts or 3 panel skirts are referred to as "Turkish" and sometimes petal skirts are "Turkish." Descriptions like that are kind of meaningless.

The keyhole underbust vest is traditionally considered "Turkish," because it's based on a design from Ottoman fashion, but these days if you find someone wearing it, they're most likely American Cabaret style, or it's a deliberate addition to hide a dancer's back or bra straps.

The only costuming choice that will make you immediately apparant as a newbie or a tribal dancer is the Indian Choli top. These are not worn in Oriental dance at all, but Tribal dancers will wear them, often with long tiered skirts or those flared hip-hugger pants.