Performing For an Hour on stage!

goddessyasaman

hey lady's i have been dancing for over a 10 years, but I never had to dance on stage for an hour with just myself, I have danced for 2 hrs but I took small breaks though this time I don't have anyone to dance for me for breaks so yea, have any of you every had to dance on stage for an hour without breaks?

I am putting my program together still, I think I can do it but wanted to know if any of you ladys have had to do anything like this before, it's a festival and I want to make sure everyone watching stay entertained for the whole hr.

any thought?

mahsati_janan

hey lady's i have been dancing for over a 10 years, but I never had to dance on stage for an hour with just myself, I have danced for 2 hrs but I took small breaks though this time I don't have anyone to dance for me for breaks so yea, have any of you every had to dance on stage for an hour without breaks?

I am putting my program together still, I think I can do it but wanted to know if any of you ladys have had to do anything like this before, it's a festival and I want to make sure everyone watching stay entertained for the whole hr.

any thought?

I have performed hour long shows by myself before and the keys for me are pacing and variety. Once you know who your audience will be, you can start building your set. For an American audience, alternate fast/slow/prop pieces. You can also start in a veil wrap so that your costume isn't visible for the first song or two - this helps make it seem more varied as well. (Won't work for Egyptian style) If you are dancing for Egyptians, I would suggest settling in with some of the classics and a nice long beledi progression. Variety is still a very good thing, but think more about adding in folkloric pieces. At a show last year where I performed for an hour at an Egyptian wedding, my set was structured as

1. Shamadan zeffa entrance, then shamadan removed to start full show-