Pirate belly dance -- I didn't think it was real...

TribalDancer

I was just thinking the same thing but with Kleenex and Band-Aid--both are brand names, which are a specific product by a specific company, but have become meta-terms for the product itself separate from the company.

Shanazel

I was a consultant for an exhibit firm many many years ago. The owner told me that those kinds of terms are known in the business as "frigidaires."

Aniseteph

Hoovers. :D

(doesn't contribute to the thread but couldn't resist the word once I thought of it. Carry on....)

Aisha Azar

dance

Dear Kharis,

I have absolutely no personal beef about the term bellydance. None at all. My argument is that any fusion, which incorporates ME dance moves, is naturally and automatically placed under this term as naturally as it has been placed there by those who also believe a bellydancer prances round half naked with a jewel in her navel. Unfortunate as you may think it is, nothing will change this. So, surely in this 'fusion' climate, it makes sense to educate people by at least placing a clarification prefix before 'bellydance' to this end.

I have not found that peple automatically put anything that shares a few movements with belly dance in that category. the Tribal fusion dancers around here do not, for the most part. Actually it IS changing. Now people question, they insist that people clarify what they are doing much more than when I first started dancing, back in the day when it was all just "belly dance'. People, even more dancers, recognize that belly dance is an ethnic dance that has definite roots.

I cannot help thinking that some long standing dancers and experts in this field had the foresight to see what was coming in this respect and hence their dislike of the term 'bellydance' for MED.