Suhaila Salimpour Method

So, the teacher in my area that I am currently studying with uses the Suhaila Method in her classes. While there are many aspects of this method that I love, it has made me super paranoid about every move that I do. (It also doesn't help that I am an overweight gal and my endurance and flexibility, while getting better everyday, still is not the best and this method can be extremely frustrating; Yes I understand that you need endurance and flexibility with any style/teacher, Suhaila just seems to be about 50 times more difficult for me)

My question is this, I have a workshop that I am we'll say 'training' for this upcoming October with some of my absolute favorite dancers- Aziza, Bahari, Michelle Joyce, Ruby (to name a few)- should I concentrate on those DVD's or should I really work on the Suhaila Method since it will obviously make me a stronger dancer. It seems to me that these are almost 2 different types of belly dance, when I do work with the DVD's I am focusing on different muscles than I would to do the same movement Suhaila Style (example- shimmy from the upper quads driven by the knees vs using the glutes). It is very frustrating to work on technique with my DVD's and then have to basically unlearn that when I go to class- I love the instructor and I don't mind the style, but this dance dichotomy is driving me nuts. I'm not going to stop taking classes but how the heck do I work around the dual dance style thing? Any advice would be much appreciated -Thanks!

Yame

It sounds to me like you aren't passionate about the Suhaila stuff. Are there no other instructors in your area?

Amanda (was Aziyade)

So, the teacher in my area that I am currently studying with uses the Suhaila Method in her classes.

Well hey there neighbor!! I'm in St. Louis every 6 weeks or so :)

While there are many aspects of this method that I love,

Stop right there.