Is my teacher toxic? Or am I oversensitive?

AspiringDancer

Hi Dancers, long time lurker, first time poster. I'm more active on Bhuz but I go by my first name and well, I'd like to maintain some degree of anonymity even though this story is a dead give-away if anyone who knows me would see...but anyway.

A bit of back story. Every teacher at the studio knows that I'm self-conscious and slowly overcoming my inhibitions to dance in public. I've been dancing for 3 years and my teacher knows that my ultimate goal is to perform solo with live musicians. They have put me in the student troupe and seem to really work with me to get over my dance related shyness. I work very hard at understanding the music, culture and technique and I think I could take my love for dance to a new personal best if only I could overcome this pesky obstacle.

The studio I train at had a series of workshops this weekend. One was on Baladi and our instructor was training us to walk like a baladi woman with Egyptian nuances. She said that since we would be in a baladi dress we need to focus on other aspects of our beauty when we walk.

She gave us the example that we should think of what we do in front of the mirror before we go out, such as fixing our hair, or adjusting our jewelry. She asked one girl what she does, and she answered by adjusting her hair. she asked what I do but before I had the chance to answer she did a very heavy "manly" walk and exclaimed in a gruff voice, "You don't do anything because you think you look good the way you are." This was followed by what can only be described as an insane witchy cackle. Everyone in the room actually gasped and looked horrified.

Honestly, I know I don't go to class in pink and frills. I come from work and I wear yoga pants and a tank top like everyone else. I dress and act more "down to earth" than prima donna, that's for sure but I have never thought of myself as being...manly.